RSS Feed

37+ weeks – Any day now?!?!

 

I was all ready to hear that I’d be delivering my little Love Note by the end of the day.  That was until Dr. John Leone’s pelvic exam erased all hope.  During last week’s appointment, I was told I was two centimeters dilated.  But, for some reason, I only measured 1 1/2 centimeters during Monday’s visit.  Again, a Pretty Preggie isn’t ready for delivery until she’s 10 centimeters.  So, I wondered whether that meant my incredible cervix was shrinking?  Doc said no – just that his measurements differed from the OB’s from last week.  Maybe she had smaller fingers!  Thankfully, everything else measured just fine:  blood pressure, blood sugar levels and the baby’s heartbeat.  With a uterus size measuring 37 centimeters, and Braxton Hicks throughout the day and night, D-day could happen at any time. 

Last year, I was in labor at my daughter’s track meet – but didn’t even notice.

April 2010. During my oldest daughter's track meet, I was in labor with my middle daughter and didn't even know it. She was born less than 11 hours after we took this picture.

  In fact, earlier that same day, my doctor’s pelvic exam showed I was only two centimeters dilated.  I delivered the next day within minutes of making it to the hospital.  Poor Dr. Leone had to rush to the hospital from his home to make it to the delivery room.    He hardly had time to get his scrubs on!

A rushed delivery. Dr. John Leone had to speed to the hospital to deliver my baby #2. I didn't realize my contractions were real. Had no idea I was in labor.

With baby number three, we’re taking no chances.  I’ll be delivering early – doc’s orders.  We’ve chosen a date – and my hospital bag is almost packed.  All that’s missing is something handsome or beautiful to bring the baby home in.  We’ll get to that after I see what Love Note is!  Can’t hardly wait.

DeShong Perry-Smitherman
The Secondhand Pretty Preggie

Pretty Preggie DeShong Perry-Smitherman in traditional preggie top by Liz Lange Maternity - less than $4 at the Carmel West Goodwill. The maternity pants are by Gap Maternity - from the same store (less than $6).

About deshongperry

I'm a pregnant wife, mom of two, and an award-winning TV news producer. I love showing friends and family how to dress on a budget. This time I'm doing it from a second hand perspective. This blog gives Pretty Preggies the style tips they need to look fabulous and not fat.. beautiful and not bloated.. stunning and not stunted through out their last trimester of pregnancy. Follow my glow -- as I continue to grow - wearing threads that cost less than $10 an outfit!

4 responses »

  1. Don’t worry! I’ll pick up the “take home” outfit:)

    Reply
  2. Pingback: SPP: 37+ weeks – Any day now?!?! | shades Magazine

  3. D-Day or should I say B-Day is almost here! I was in a similar boat with my daughter,in that due to various factors (for me it was low lying placenta that kept teetering on placenta previa and being 1 cm dilated as early as 24 wks), by 37 weeks the doc had us schedule a date for delivery before my original due date. Ironically, though, my water broke the day BEFORE the scheduled induction, so my BabyGirl ended up showing us ALL who was really running thangs. Praying for your peaceful, smooth and memorable delivery and for any remaining elements to fall right into place! You have been a PHENOMENAL Pretty Preggie! Although I will miss reading your blog and seeing your growing belly in all of those fabulous threads, can’t wait to see pics of the new baby once he/she makes their debut!

    Reply
  4. Lol I didn’t know I was in labor with Aki. Ihad no pain at all whatever the herbs Dr.Sebi gave me to take it was smooth sailing. Had a c section after delivery it felt like a little pinch. Can’t wait to see pictures of the new love joy.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

