RSS Feed

Pretty Preggie Spotlight: Butterfly Consignment Indianapolis

Pretty Preggie and Butterfly owner Niquelle R. Allen.

 

Location:  6697 E. 82nd Street (Castleton Village Shopping Plaza – Craig St. intersection – near Skyline Chili)

Phone:  317-594-0000

Website:  www.shopbfly.com

Hours:  Mon. – Fri. 11am – 7pm, Sat.  – 11am – 5pm, Sun. 12-5pm

Tucked away in the corner of a strip mall on the northeast side of Indianapolis is an inviting playground for the fashionista on a budget. 

High-end designers an every Butterfly rack.

  Sights:  Walk into Butterfly Consignment and the charm and class of this mid-size boutique will greet you at the door.  In every nook and cranny, you’ll see the things that make pretty girls tick:  a crystal chandelier in the center of the store, racks of high-end clothes, and a show-stopping collection of purses and jewelry.  There’s a well-organized shoe section, a plus-sized area for voluptuous divas and clean, spacious dressing rooms.  You get a feeling that the new and gently used tops, bottoms and dresses on Butterfly’s velvet hangers are proud to be in their temporary home.

What’s in it for Pretty Preggies:  Pretty Preggies have to be creative and flexible at Butterfly.  There’s no maternity section, but you can still leave with some swagtastic gear.  It helps to know which non-maternity labels fit your belly (I’ll save my tips on this for a future blog entry).  

Shopping with a teething toddler who wore me out! I had to take a breather on Butterfly's clean hardwood floor

What I bought:  Two tops – one from Banana Republic and another from Storm.  They were $7 each (off the sales rack)!   I wore the Banana Republic top to work Tuesday – and to my late-night run to Fiesta Mexicana.  Check it out – a tan and green polka-dot  rayon-lyocell non-preggie top that still accentuates my belly.  The jeans are left over from my last pregnancy – purchased full price before I had my secondhand sense!

Labels you’ll see:  Arden B., Armani, Banana Republic, BCBG, Bebe, Calvin Klein, Chanel, Citizens of Humanity, Diane von Furstenberg, Free People, Guess, Gucci,  J. Crew, Juicy Couture, Kate Spade, Michael Kors, Manolo Blahnik, Miu Miu, Prada, Seven for all Mankind, St. John, True Religion, Valentino, Versage, YSL – and much more.   

Butterfly houses several collections of show-stopping jewelry and other accessories.

  Price Range: $$ Mid-to-high.   But remember, some of these threads are high end. 

Sounds:  Quiet shopping in a relaxing environment.   Soft music accompanies your experience.

Smells:  Fresh than a mug!  You will not smell the familiar funk of old clothes and B.O. found in some run-of-the mill thrift stores. 

What makes it special:  Juice and donuts on the welcome table, floor to ceiling length mirrors, a variety of styles (casual to formal) and sizes (petite to plus), and Margaret, the friendly sales diva.  She offered my inconsolable teething-toddler two crayons and a page from a coloring book (it worked just a hot second, but I appreciated the effort).

I wore the $7 Banana Republic top to work Tuesday – and to my late-night run to Fiesta Mexicana . The jeans are left over from my last pregnancy – purchased full price before I had my secondhand sense!

How consignment works:  Like a business partnership.  You bring in your items, B-Fly selects what they can sell and displays  them in the store.  Once they sell, B-Fly splits the selling price with you 50/50.  (From www.shopbfly.com)    

Helpful hint:  Don’t sleep on the sales rack!  Items there are 50% off!

About deshongperry

I'm a pregnant wife, mom of two, and an award-winning TV news producer. I love showing friends and family how to dress on a budget. This time I'm doing it from a second hand perspective. This blog gives Pretty Preggies the style tips they need to look fabulous and not fat.. beautiful and not bloated.. stunning and not stunted through out their last trimester of pregnancy. Follow my glow -- as I continue to grow - wearing threads that cost less than $10 an outfit!

11 responses »

  1. I neeeeeed to go to this place. And can you do a preggie day to night look?

    Reply
    • Hey Thai, The next time you’re in town, we can check it out. You will love it, lil sis! Love you! BTW – show me how to do the day to night thing and I’ll pull it off in an upcoming blog entry.

      Reply
      • Tamberla Perry

        Thats actually a very good idea ..That was the challenge on Project runway. Make something you can wear to work and they how to turn into an evning outfit. GOod idea Thai Hamilton!

  2. I’m going to check out the store…looks fun and nice! Can you also do:
    * an athletic preggie
    * best bras for preggies and places
    * buying baby books hints
    * preggie shoes?

    Reply
    • Hey 365, Yes. I did an athletic Preggie post today – it’s about my cardio workout. In the coming weeks, I’ll do legs and arms. I love your other ideas too, and will get right to them. In fact, Goodwill has GREAT children’s books for under $3. Thanks for reading!

      Reply
  3. Deshong you are truly a “BFLY” diva!

    Reply
  4. I get my swag from divas like you. Thanks for checking out the blog. 🙂

    Reply
  5. We truly enjoyed you and the girls at the store! Come back soon! btw…you look fabulous in your banana republic top! 🙂

    Reply
  6. Hi Deshong! Congratulations! Of course, I have no interest in or chance of being pregnant again but I am enjoying your blog! Your enthusiasm is so refreshing. My regards to Cody also!

    Reply
    • Hi Ramona! Thanks so much for reading the blog. I’m glad you’re being entertained. I’m having a lot of fun writing it. It’s actually therapy for me. Please continue to follow my journey, and subscribe to the blog so you can get the posts immediately. BTW – we are Facebook friends now, so let’s keep in touch! Have a great weekend!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

