RSS Feed

Pretty Preggie Spotlight: Designer Outlet Fine Consignments (Indianapolis)

I love this dress! It was less than $3.50 at Designer Outlet Fine Consignments (Indianapolis).

Designer Outlet Fine Consignments
1349 West 86th Street
Indianapolis, IN  46260
317-255-3228
Hours:  Monday – Friday 10-6, Saturday 10-4
Owner:  Ellen T. Smith
 
Sights: I knew there was something unique about this place, but I couldn’t quite put my swollen preggie finger on it right away.  As I waddled around Designer Outlet, I found myself wanting to touch and try on so many of its eclectic offerings. 

1960s vintage hat embellished with scarlet feathers. $14!

From the 1960s helmet style vintage hat embellished with scarlet feathers, to a 1980s Escada multi-colored sweater, to a rich, black velvet cape adorned with bold white, rhinestones. 

Black velvet cape adorned with bold white, rhinestones. I was too big to try it on.

The only problem?  I couldn’t fit any of my favorite finds because of the size of my big head and diameter of my nearly-9 month preggie belly.  Nonetheless, I found this quaint, mid-size boutique a refreshing, one-of-a-kind for Indy for three reasons:  (1) The owner accepts both up-to-date and rare, gently used vintage pieces, (2) she consigns fur coats and jackets at affordable prices, and (3) several of her consigners ship in their clothing from cities like New York, Los Angeles and Denver. 

Several of Designer Outlet's consigners ship in their clothing from cities like New York, Los Angeles and Denver.

The third fact is what would keep me coming back – the possibility that I could be the only woman in central Indiana rocking a fashionable fit mailed here from a distant place.  Isn’t it the reason so many of us spend much of our lives shopping for splendid clothing – the hope that our rare selection will be the  crowned jewel of the room?  Well, Designer Outlet Fine Consignments gives you that chance.. a chance at show-stopping glory!
 
Sounds:  Local radio stations that play anything but rap. Hallelujah!  My ears can’t take the new stuff anyway!
Sizes:  Petite to plus.

Owner Ellen T. Smith holds one of her eclectic feather-embellished hats. She's been in the consignment business for more than 25 years.

Labels:  Ann Taylor, Ann Klein, Banana Republic, BCBG, Burberry, Calvin Klein, Chanel, Coach, Dana Buchman, DKNY, Dolce & Gabbana, Ellen Tracy, Escada, Free People, Giorgio Armani, Gucci, J. Crew, Jil Sander, Lacoste, Ralph Lauren, St. John, Tahari – and more.
 
What’s in it for Pretty Preggies:  No maternity rack, but many high-end trendy, high end and vintage dresses and tops that would fit over a preggie belly. I purchased a DKNY top, Ann Taylor Loft top, Tahari top and a dress (designer’s tag cut out) for under $13 – all from the sales rack in the back of the store. 
 
Price range: $ – $$$  From bargain basement  on the sales rack to shelling out a pretty penny on the high-end designer and fur racks.  Clothing is usually priced at 20% to 30% of the original retail pric, depending on condition.  Make sure to pay close attention to the date on your tag.  It determines the discount on your selection.  Most consignment stores I’ve visit use the colored tag system.

The hat that got away. Didn't want to break my over $10 rule!

 
Consigning with Designer Outlet:  Consignment period is 90 days.  The price of your items will be reduced by 20% off the original price after 30 days, 40% after 60 days, and 60% after 90 days.  Additional markdowns for seasonal and special event sales. 

Sheared mink/reversible $2,798.00

 

Persian lamb/mink reversible $2,099

Extras:  (1)  Fur coats galore – various lengths and types – more than I’ve seen at any local consignment store  (2)  They offer pick up service for clients with large quantities of clothing  or special needs (3) Layaway available with 50% down. 
 
Suggestion for Designer Outlet:  Create a website and Facebook page.  Potential clients and customers would love to see your offerings on their phones and computer screens.
 
What makes this place special:  The funny, fun and feisty sales manager who won’t allow me to publish her name!  My favorite quote from her on why she’ll never wear vintage clothes:  “Young people can wear vintage and look cool.  Old people can wear it and look old — that’s why I refuse to do vintage.” 
 
Hope you enjoy this spot as much as I did!
 
DeShong Perry -Smitherman
The Secondhand Pretty Preggie
About deshongperry

I'm a pregnant wife, mom of two, and an award-winning TV news producer. I love showing friends and family how to dress on a budget. This time I'm doing it from a second hand perspective. This blog gives Pretty Preggies the style tips they need to look fabulous and not fat.. beautiful and not bloated.. stunning and not stunted through out their last trimester of pregnancy. Follow my glow -- as I continue to grow - wearing threads that cost less than $10 an outfit!

One response »

  1. Tamberla Perry-Douglas

    Ha she’s right about that…. old people wearing vintage! It just looks like they have been wearing the same thing since the 1960s..Her store looks cool..i’d like to go!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

